E info@cambridgemusic.net

T +44 (0)1223 424007  

City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra

City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra – Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1 with George Harliono

Sunday 11th February 2018 | 7:30pm

Venue: West Road Concert Hall

If you like famous classics, this is the concert for you. Shostakovich was asked to write a short piece at short notice and he obliged readily, producing the completed score three days later. His Festive Overture is festive indeed, full of pace and bubble. The music almost smiles at you and all too soon disappears like the Cheshire cat.

Still Russian, but at the heavier end of the emotional spectrum is the Piano Concerto in B flat minor by Tchaikovsky. It’s ranked number six in the world for popularity among piano concertos, which comes as no surprise given its abundance of memorable melodies and dramatic contrasts. George Harliono from Cambridge is the soloist. In 2013, he was one of 12 young pianists from around the world to be offered the opportunity to work and perform with Lang Lang in Munich, and he later became one of the Lang Lang Music Ambassadors.

We stay in Russia for Sergei Rachmaninov’s ‘Symphonic Dances’, his last composition, completed in 1941. It’s full of interest and nostalgia, including quotations from earlier works and references to Russian liturgical chant, overall, a kind of summary of his creative life. It ranges between the richly romantic and an almost Stravinsky-like spikiness that adds spice to the mix. It’s not a ballet, notwithstanding its title, but some choreographers have had a shot at staging it.

George Harliono piano
Robert Hodge conductor

Shostakovich Festive Overture
Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto no.1
Rachmaninov Symphonic Dances

Ticket and Booking Information

£18, £16 (concessions), £8 (students), £5 (children)
ADC Ticketing 01223 300085