E info@cambridgemusic.net

T +44 (0)1223 424007  

Ligeti String Quartet

Ligeti String Quartet – Remembering the Future

Thursday 26th October 2017 | 7:30pm

Venue: West Road Concert Hall

The Ligeti Quartet, one of the resident ensembles at Cambridge’s Faculty of Music, presents ‘Remembering the Future’. This concert explores the history and future of music: transformations of famous Baroque works, visionary early 20th-century quartets, Haas’s reinterpretations of tradition, and the world premiere of award-winning composer Stef Conner’s Singing Strings: A Contemporary Quartet in Conversation.

J. S. Bach, arr. Birtwistle Three Fugues from the Art of Fugue (2008)
Anton Webern String Quartet, Op. 28 (1936)
Joanna Bailie Five Famous Adagios (2006)
Stef Conner Singing Strings (2017)
Igor Stravinsky Concertino for String Quartet (1920)
Sofia Gubaidulina Reflections on the Theme B-A-C-H (2002)
Georg Friedrich Haas String Quartet No. 2 (1998)

Ticket and Booking Information

£16 (early bird £12), students £5

Booking opens Monday 18 September

ADC Box Office, ADC Theatre, Park Street, Cambridge CB5 8AS
01223 300085
Monday – Saturday 1-7pm