E info@cambridgemusic.net

T +44 (0)1223 424007  

East Anglia Chamber Orchestra

Andrew Watkinson conducts EAChO

Saturday 28th September 2019 | 7:30pm

Venue: West Road Concert Hall

East Anglia Chamber Orchestra returns to the West Road Concert Hall for an evening of heart-warming music making under the baton of Andrew Watkinson. The concert begins with the Introduction and Allegro by Edward Elgar. Written to display the player’s virtuosity and scored for a string quartet and string orchestra, it was composed in 1905 for the newly formed London Symphony Orchestra.

The orchestra is then joined by the ever popular Gülsin Onay for the Piano Concerto in A minor by Robert Schumann. After four abortive attempts and the Fantasie, the composer finally completed his Piano Concerto in 1845. It is a very democratic work with the orchestra sharing the musical conversation with the soloist.

Our concert concludes with the Seventh Symphony by Ludwig van Beethoven. It was written in tandem with the Eighth Symphony, during at a stormy and difficult period in the composer’s life. It offers us drama, poignant melody, wit and powerful jubilation Join us for an evening of drama, emotion and fabulous music-making.

Elgar Introduction & Allegro
Schumann Piano concerto in A minor
Beethoven Symphony No 7

Ticket and Booking Information

£20 adults / £18 concessions / £10 under 18s – £10 students
ADC box office 01223 300085